Caution: Only start the restore process if you have ensured that no write access to the data takes place while restoring. Otherwise the existing or restored data will be incomplete or corrupted. Make sure that the CM is not running as a server and that no other CMs are running or started in single mode while data is being restored.
It is not possible to dump CMS content and other data to an
NFS mount, or to restore a CMS dump from an NFS mount (using
CM -dump or
CM -restore, respectively).
Please observe the following when dumping and restoring mirror files: The dump needs to include the original files of the mirror files, and these originals must be restorable along with their mirror files.
In order to restore the data saved previously, please proceed as follows:
./rc.npsd stop CM
./CM -restore dumpDir [resume] [-sysConfig none | partial | full]
./rc.npsd start CM
Please specify as
dumpDir the directory in which the
CMS data was saved. A relative path refers to the current directory.
resume, an interrupted restoration process can be
By means of the optional argument
-sysConfig, you can
determine the type of system configuration data to be imported. Use one
of the following three keywords for this:
none: The system configuration is not restored.
partial: All configuration entries except the following ones, which are related to the server configuration, are restored from the dump:
server, tuning, portal, export.incrementalUpdate, export.charsetMap, export.charset, export.exportAbsolutePaths, export.absoluteFsPathPrefix, export.absoluteUrlPrefix, export.abortOnError, export.validDateTimeOutputFormats, export.guiUrl, export.writeLiveServerReadPerms, indexing, gui.dynamicPreviewUrl, gui.dynamicPreviewDirectory, gui.fontFamily, gui.fontSize, gui.webDav, userManagement.editorial, userManagement.live.
full: The saved system configuration is restored completely.
sysConfig mode is
The restoration process is interactive. If you are restoring data into a newer version of the CMS (only up to version 6.5.0, later versions use in-place migration instead of dump and restore) some field names might have become reserved keywords in the new version. The Content Manager will ask you in such cases to enter new names for the fields concerned. All references to the names concerned will be updated, except when they are located in Tcl scripts. Apart from the names beginning with a digit, the following names are invalid:
anchors, archivedContentIds, blob, blobLength, body, bodyTemplateName, channels, children, codeForActionPreview, codeForPreview, codeForSourceView, codeForThumbnail, contentIds, contentType, createNewsItem, displayTitle, editor, encodedBlob, encodedExportBlob, exportBlob, exportCharset, exportFiles, exportMimeType, externalAttributes, externalAttrNames, externalAttrTypeDict, frameNames, freeLinks, getKeys, hasChildren, hasSuperLinks, height, id, isCommitted, isComplete, isEdited, isReleased, isRoot, lastChanged, linkListAttributes, mimeType, name, next, nextEditGroup, nextSignGroup, noPermissionLiveServerRead, objClass, objectId, objectsToRoot, objType, parent, path, permissionCreateChildren, permissionLiveServerRead, permissionRead, permissionRoot, permissionWrite, prefixPath, previous, reasonsForIncompleteState, releasedVersions, setKeys, signatureAttrNames, sortValue, subLinks, superLinks, superObjects, suppressExport, textLinks, thumbnail, title, toclist, validControlActionKeys, validCreateObjClasses, validFrom, validObjClasses, validPermissions, validSortKeys, validSortOrders, validSortTypes, validUntil, version, visibleExportTemplates, visibleName, visiblePath, width, workflow, workflowComment, workflowName, xmlBlob.
Attention: When fully restoring a dump to a Content Management Server, all the changes made intermediately to the system configuration will be overwritten.
If, for example, the restoration process was cancelled because of insufficient hard disk space, it can be resumed with the following command:
CM -restore dumpDir resume